Handball

Where can I play handball in Germany?

Did you know that handball was invented in Germany as a women’s game? That was 1917. The men got their version of the game in 1920. Since then, handball has remained very popular with the Germans. The German national handball team has been involved in all world handball championships and has won the title three times. So it’s definitely worth watching a handball game in Germany.

During the season, games take place on weekends. You’ll meet thousands of enthusiastic fans and maybe even make new friends.

For most Germans, handball is the second most popular sport after football. Every weekend, thousands of enthusiastic fans visit the games. Smaller cities are equally enthusiastic about their local teams.

Where to watch

There is a handball stadium in each of the larger cities, and it is very likely that there will also be a handball stadium in a smaller city. The most popular is the SAP Arena Mannheim, which hosts around 15,000 fans. Ice hockey games are also played there. There is also the GETEC Arena in Magdeburg. It is home to the handball Bundesliga team of SC Magdeburg and is home to around 8,000 fans.

You can also follow the Handball Bundesliga news to see where the top teams are playing. Top 5 teams include:

1. THW Kiel with around 174,000 fans

2. Rhein-Neckar Löwen with around 139,000 fans

3. Foxes Berlin with around 128,000 fans

4. SC Magdeburg with around 104,000 fans

5. SG Flensburg-H. with around 103,000 fans

Even better if you can see the national team in action. The Germans know very well how to cheer on their teams. In the stadium there is usually thunderous applause and of course mockery of the opposing team.

Where to buy tickets

Tickets can be found on www.wecando.app and they usually cost less than €15 per piece.

What you should bring

The German stadiums are very relaxed about what you can bring in. Almost all fans will walk in with a few cans of beer. The favourite is white beer with white sausage. You can also bring your own snacks and drinks.

Don’t forget to wear a T-shirt of your favorite handball team. You can buy such T-shirts online for 25 to 40 €. The atmosphere is always festive, regardless of the outcome of the game. Either way, it’s an experience that you should have done at least once in a lifetime.

Handball

Wo kann man in Deutschland Handball spielen?

Wusstest du, dass Handball in Deutschland als Frauenspiel erfunden wurde? Das war 1917. Die Männer bekamen ihre Version des Spiels 1920. Seitdem ist Handball bei den Deutschen sehr beliebt geblieben. Die deutsche Handball-Nationalmannschaft war bei allen Handball-Weltmeisterschaften dabei und hat dreimal den Titel gewonnen. Einmal ein Handballspiel in Deutschland anzuschauen, ist es also auf jeden Fall wert.

Während der Spielsaison finden Spiele an den Wochenenden statt. Du wirst Tausende von begeisterten Fans treffen und vielleicht sogar neue Freunde dabei finden.

Für die meisten Deutschen ist Handball nach Fußball die zweitbeliebteste Sportart. Jedes Wochenende besuchen Tausende von begeisterten Fans die Spiele. Kleinere Städte sind ebenso begeistert von ihren lokalen Mannschaften.

Wo man zuschauen kann

In jeder der größeren Städte gibt es ein Handballstadion, und es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass es auch in einer kleineren Stadt ein Handballstadion gibt. Die beliebteste ist die SAP Arena Mannheim, die rund 15.000 Fans beherbergt. Dort werden auch Eishockeyspiele ausgetragen. Es gibt auch die GETEC-Arena in Magdeburg. Sie beherbergt rund 8.000 Fans und ist die Heimat der Handball-Bundesliga-Mannschaft des SC Magdeburg.

Du kannst auch die Handball-Bundesliga-Nachrichten verfolgen, um zu sehen, wo die Spitzenmannschaften spielen.  Zu den Top-5-Teams gehören:

1.         THW Kiel mit rund 174.000 Fans

2.         Rhein-Neckar Löwen mit rund 139.000 Fans

3.         Füchse Berlin mit rund 128.000 Fans

4.         SC Magdeburg mit rund 104.000 Fans

5.         SG Flensburg-H. mit rund 103.000 Fans

Noch besser, wenn du die Nationalmannschaft in Aktion sehen kannst. Die Deutschen wissen sehr gut, wie sie ihre Mannschaften anfeuern können. Im Stadion herrscht meist tosender Applaus und natürlich Hohn auf die gegnerische Mannschaft.

Wo du Karten kaufen kannst

Die Tickets findest du auf www.wecando.app und sie kosten in der Regel  weniger als 15 € pro Stück.

Was du mitbringen solltest

Die deutschen Stadien sehen sehr entspannt, was Sie einbringen können. Fast alle Fans werden mit ein paar Dosen Bier hereinspazieren. Der Favorit ist Weissbier mit Weisswurst. Du kannst auch deine eigenen Snacks und Getränke mitbringen.

Vergiss nicht, ein T-Shirt deiner Lieblingshandballmannschaft zu tragen. Solche T-Shirts kannst du online für 25 bis 40 € kaufen. Die Stimmung ist immer festlich, unabhängig vom Ausgang des Spiels. So oder so, es ist ein Erlebnis, dass man mindestens einmal im Leben gemacht haben sollte.